top of page
  • Writer's pictureerika

christmas, books, music, and movies [reviews]

Hello there dearest readers,

It's been quite a few months since I've last posted. One simple reason: I have absolutely no idea what to post 😂

2 December 2021: My eyes have grown significantly smaller (exaggeration) due to the lack of sleep, and my periodic table (yes, I'm a nerd) which I've pasted on my wall keeps on falling off!

This blog post will be something like a life update, and I'm going to be telling you all of the books and movies I've recently read and watched and provide some short reviews. Also, I will be sharing with you my Spotify Wrapped 2021 ! I hope you enjoy reading this :) (Click on the links to jump to a section)


BOOKS!

Not long ago, I started compiling books to add into my bedroom's bookshelf. (Image on the left.) (Context: I've not really had a personal bookshelf, other than for school books, because all my family's books are placed in what we call the library in our living room.) I thought it would be cool to pick and choose the books that I only read, bought for my personal readings, or the greatest classics of which I most definitely need to keep in my own bookshelf.

As I'm writing this, I have read a total of 105 books in the year 2021. Let me recommend a few recent reads.

  • The Portable Dante by Dante Alighieri, edited by Mark Musa.

  • The Three Theban Plays by Sophocles

  • The Aeneid by Virgil

I read the above 3 books for my English class. To say the very least, they were confusing as heck, but the morals and the lessons I can learn from them are irreplaceable. Even if some of these books were written based on the paganist background of the author, I've definitely learnt that pride doesn't lead to any good. Of all of them, I recommend The Portable Dante the most. Although I am not a Catholic (book is about the levels of hell and purgatory - a Catholic belief), there are so many specific points of poetic justice (contrapasso - go google the meaning hehe) which I can learn from. During the weeks when my class was studying this book together, I could link this book to so many areas of my pastor's sermon. How enlightening that was for me!

  • Hannah Swensen Series by Joanna Fluke. Murder and desserts mixed together, what a delightful combination! Join local baker, Hannah Swensen, as she works with the police department to solve murder mysteries in her neighborhood. A particular "bad" side to this series is that the stories are repetitive. Every book in the series that I've read so far all solve similar type of murders with similar motives, and hello author, I know that Hannah will solve the mystery 😁

I'm hoping to dive deeper into reading more Shakespeare. So far, the only Shakespearean book I've read is The Tempest. You might wonder, WHY WOULD ANYONE WANT TO READ SHAKESPEARE VOLUNTARILY ?!? Technically, I'm not reading Shakespeare voluntarily. When my teacher talks about Shakespeare in class and all my classmates totally understand what she's talking about, I'm the only one clueless because I'm not familiar with the art of Shakespeare. I'm hoping to tackle Julius Caesar next since that is the only Shakespeare book I own a physical copy of. Will let you know how it goes if I ever start it. For sure though, I'll be reading Robison Crusoe by Daniel Defoe before Christmas.


MOVIES!

Recently Watched:

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings 8/10

Loved the Asian themes in it, but the amount of CGI (Computer-generated imagery) was a bit too much.

Black Widow 8.5/10

Not bad, not bad.

Cats 2/10

This movie isn't worth watching at all. I'm not sure if it's because it is originally a musical, which brings down the quality of this movie, but either ways, it sucked. There were literally amazing actors in it, but I was so disappointed. The whole time it was so draggy, and I almost fell asleep.

Three Christs 5.5/10

Didn't realize that it was rated R until I finished watching it. Overall, pretty interesting movie that provides an entirely different vibe from the movies I usually watch. (It's rated R / NC16 in different ratings due to graphic content from suicide, drugs, slight sexual content, and asylums. Please read reviews and description of movie before watching. I didn't do that 😅)

Want to Watch:

  • Dune

  • Spiderman: No Way Home (can't wait for it to be released!!)

  • James Bond: No Time To Die


MY SPOTIFY WRAPPED 2021!



30 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page