top of page
  • Writer's pictureerika

Ode To Zoom

Ode to Zoom

Behind the screen, I am unseen

Behind zoom, I am seen.

I laugh at the password.

Ah, so absurd.

I click on the meeting link.

A smallish window pops out.

I type in the meeting particulars.

I key in my name, no doubt.

Join with video?

Join without?

A girl with PJ’s

One with a groggy face,

Flashes back at me.

I join with video

To the virtual world we go

I see his face

I see her face.

I see my friends.

And then nothing.

Oh, they turned off their camera.

Zooming my way through the different functions,

Ordinary buttons cross at each junction.

Oops, I shared my screen.

My screen of unanswered text messages.


Zoom, the wonderful tool

For your work

For our school

For my convenience.

But how I wonder

What if it crashes?

That overload of users,

That multitude of hackers.

What if?

A worthy app

A highly-used trap.

So this ode to Zoom, with its pros and cons,

Makes me think, will it one day be gone?

 

okay, so i realized that my posting has been quite irregular this past few weeks! and the reason is actually quite simple, I have no idea what to post :') the above poem is an old one that I just plucked out from my old documents. one more thing, you probably know that I prefer writing poems to stories XD






57 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page